Back to all posts
  • Albums in 2017

    Architek Percussion will be featured on two recordings being released this coming year. The first is Eliot Britton's Metatron, to be released on the Ambiences Magnetiques label in February 2017. We have had a long and productive working relationship with Eliot, who has composed three pieces which are in our regular repertoire, among them Metatron: a five-movement, 35 minute virtuoso work for percussion quartet/sextet, handheld electronics, analog synth, and tape. Metatron received its premiere in Montreal in 2014. Britton is a newly-appointed professor of composition and electroacoustic music at the University of Toronto after having completed his PhD at McGill, which is where we started working with him.

    The second album will be released in late 2017, and is Architek Percussion's debut full-length release. The album is called The Privacy of Domestic Life, and features a 30 minute work of the same name by Montreal composer and sound artist Adam Basanta. Adam is another composer with whom we've worked over the past few years and gotten to know in Montreal, and in June 2015 we premiered The Privacy of Domestic Life in Montreal in partnership with Codes D'Acces, Suoni Per Il Popolo, and the Montreal Contemporary Music Lab. Also included on this album are works by Taylor Brook, Duncan Schouten, and Beavan Flanagan, each of which we have enjoyed performing over our five years together as a quartet. The recording of the Privacy of Domestic Life is being supported by the Canada Council for the Arts, and the album will be released on the Centrediscs label.